Food For Thought · Lifestyle

NEWCASTLE PRIDE

Hey guys,

As you can tell from the title this post is going to be about Pride. This weekend celebrates Newcastle Pride’s 10th Birthday and 16,000 people turned up to march through central Newcastle before retiring to Town Moor park for music, fun and drinks. I went along yesterday with my work family. It was my first ever Pride event and I had a great time.

I came out as bi earlier this year and since then the LGBT scene and the need to raise awareness and fight for equal rights amongst other things has become even more important to me and thus I was excited to be attending my first Pride event with my boys from work. It was amazing seeing such a mixed bunch of people of all ages turn up to march. Standing together there was such a feeling of solidarity and acceptance. Everyone felt comfortable just being themselves, no fear of judgement. It was lovely seeing the support from onlookers too, some who weren’t physically able to participate in the march stood at the sidelines and waved flags, others held up supportive signs as we marched past or waved and cheered. Although the weather was miserable, the atmosphere was great and the drizzly murkiness did not dampen anyone’s moods or spirits.

After the march we arrived at Town Moore, got our VIP wristbands and settled down at a table with a view of the stage. At one point we were huddled under our umbrellas which was a shame, but the music acts were good, the drinks and talk flowed and when the sun finally came out the smiles turned into grins and we danced away. Before we left the park the guys also went on some rides and tried to get me on some too although I was not to be persuaded as my stomach wasn’t feeling too great and I’m quite honestly surprised non of them threw up aha!

Town was packed when we walked back but we grabbed a quick bite to eat and went for a short boogie before getting the last train back to Durham feeling absolutely exhausted, I mean no wonder we had been out for 11 hours.

20269945_10213696821359264_1282594263_n
Me, Ryan and Aiden, Bradley ❤ 

I really enjoyed my first pride event, although I do think it would be nice if there was also more awareness raising after the march, in the sense of more talks about current LGBT situations around the world, how far we’ve come but also how much still needs to change… I know there were a few video clips, but sadly the sound was too quiet for me to actually understand anything.

To end with a bit of food for thought; it is great seeing how much progress we have made across the world, but as one of speakers said whilst having fun today we should also think of those less fortunate than us. I feel like I take LGBT acceptance for granted here in England, there’s a certain detachment from the problems people in other countries might be experiencing, but then I just need to look across the sea to Northern Ireland where same sex marriage isn’t legal yet, to be reminded that injustice is’t far around the corner. So with Theresa May in bed with the DUP and Trump running around America who knows what the next few years hold for the LGBT community! I hope it will be an ever growing forward moving motion and that we will not be taking any steps backwards.

Lots of Love for you guys!

Carina xo

6 thoughts on “NEWCASTLE PRIDE

  1. Love this post! As a member of the pride community I am very disappointed in myself for not going to a pride event yet, but I still have plenty of time! And this post has inspired me to venture to Newcastle one year to go to the pride there!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

